Ohio Chief of Transportation Earns Statewide Award


Jeff Vrabel, Sr., of Youngstown City Schools in November was named the 2012 recipient of an Ohio Association of School Business’ foundation award for his business management practices.

Vrabel, who also currently is president-elect of the Ohio Association for Pupil Transportation, received the Foundation For School Business Management’s “Outstanding Transportation Director of the Year” award. In its 27th year, the program recognizes Ohio’s public school business officials for their service to their school system, community and profession. It also provides a $500 college scholarship for a high school senior.

Vrabel’s career includes 15 years at the Columbiana County Educational Service Center (ESC), where he spearheaded several initiatives to streamline operations, such as computerizing the routing system to improve efficiency. As an OASBO member, he also helps to create professional development programs for all Ohio school business officials.

“Our members are the key players responsible annually for millions of public dollars within school districts. Their successes and contributions to their profession, their districts and their communities are often a well-kept secret, so we’re excited to be able to formally recognize them through this awards program,” said OASBO’s Executive Director David Varda. “We’re also very pleased that these awards give back – providing college scholarships for students.”